Something I’ve been pondering….

A quote from Diana Wynne Jones, from her website:

“Anyone who writes fantasy tends to be asked why they do it. Anyone who does it for children is liable to be asked all sorts of other things in addition, everything in fact from how much money you earn to When did you write your first book? I thought I would use this opportunity to answer some of the questions I am most commonly asked and, I hope, in the course of it, the question I have never been asked and which strikes me as the really important one. This is What do you think you’re trying to do? That is a question I ask myself quite often and find very hard to answer.”

This is also a question I’ve had for the past two years, one that as soon as I returned from Armenia in December I started searching out, ruthlessly, compulsively reading author and artist interviews, seeing what they say. Why do we do it?  Why do I do it?

  • I want to make the world a better place and share the things I’ve learned about people, who they are, and how they work, free us up to understand more, love more, imagine more– but it’s more than that.
  • I find myself needing escape–but the worlds I escape to are often just as rough or rougher than my own, so that can’t be completely right either.
  • The characters live inside me and want their stories told–so is it really about me or anyone else at all? Maybe it’s about them.
  • I need money to survive–cold hard fact of life, still isn’t the reason.
  • I feel emptiness, soul-hungering cravings when I don’t write.

What is it? What is the reason? What purpose does it serve, really?  Does there need to be a reason why we do it? Can something purposeless ultimately find purpose?

Why do I have such an insatiable need for Story?

Leave a Reply

