Update on Goals.

There’s no way I can meet my goal of finishing A Cautionary Tale of Love and War by the end of the month.  I have to keep playing the back and forth game of dreaming of reaching the stars and then belatedly realizing that my health means I have to crawl–not run–to get there.

If there’s one thing I have a hard time doing these days it’s meeting deadlines.  I managed to meet all the ones I set for myself in April, but this go around it looks like that’s a No.

One thing I have learned from this is that expectations are what take the most energy out of you and give you the  most frustrations.  Expectations should be moldable, interchangeable, adaptable. Hope should be a constant fuel.  I hadn’t realized that expectation and hope were two separate things before.  I’m still trying to work it out, but that’s what I’ve got so far.

So here are my new set of goals to attempt to adapt to the situation I’m facing.

  1. Continue to crawl towards my goal of finishing A Cautionary Tale soon. (Never give up, never surrender!)
  2. Sign-post goal of finishing THE WITCH’S TOWER by the end of July still. I likely won’t make that goal, but if not I still have the goal of finishing before WorldCon in August.
  3. It appears the short story a month goal is too much to add on top of that. So let’s change that to short story per quarter, so I can have something to submit to Writers of the Future.  I have short story ideas enough to last me the end of the year while still focusing mostly on noveling.
Leave a Reply

