Kindle This, Nook That

Spark2 & Embroidery

So, everyone is very excited/appalled about the new Kindle additions to the Amazon e-reader family.  Out of all those choices, I would still choose mine. I love the keyboard and the 3G/Wireless option I’ve got. Plus I made a snazzy bag for it.  People kept wanting to see my embroidery work, so there you go!

I have a whole slew of reasons for loving my Kindle and the recent rise of affordable, well-developed e-readers.

  1. Project Gutenberg actually has meaning. All those public domain books are now easy to read.
  2. Adjustable font. You have no idea how much of a life-saver it is to make font bigger with my illness. Just say no to overwhelming panic attacks of swimming tiny text on two pages! Say no! ((Warning, religious: I’m able to read my scriptures again. HUGE perk. HUGE.))
  3. Travel-friendly. I don’t have a home base. Every few years I am on the move, meaning all of my hardcover and mass market books are literally my biggest burden.  Having hundreds of books that weigh as light as a few feathers is absolutely lovely.
  4. Internet at my fingertips. I don’t have internet on my phone (I’m still in the flip-phone age) so this has come in handy too many times to count.
  5. Downloadable samples. You can sample the first 10% of each book before buying.  Now I don’t have to feel awkward reading books in a bookstore. It is so awkward, lemmetellya.
  6. The rise of excellent self-published authors.  It’s now a viable option to self-publish and make a living. (Now I just have to wade through the marshes of badly formatted translated literature, ugh. Or fix it somehow.)
  7. Foreign language fiction books are now within reach as foreign publishers are beginning to put out e-books on a global scale. Hurray!
  8. Short stories are back!  E-readers are most likely saving the dying short story/magazine format.  Novellas now have a viable, comfy place to live as well.
  9. Choose your own adventure and interactive fiction is back!  Text-based games now have their very own “gaming format”.  The iPad has opened up the interactive-art world. Woohoo!
  10. The world is at our fingertips!  There are so many options, anything you want you can have!

All that being said  – Though the Amazon Fire looks cool and probably really can compete against the iPad, I’m leery of buying all my tech from one company. Why put all I own in one set of hands? That doesn’t sound very smart to me…. I mean, look what happened to Crosswinds, then GeoCities. They lost all my stuff. Harrumph.

Thoughts? Need more convincing?

6 responses to “Kindle This, Nook That

  • Erin

    Your bag is awesome! I do love my color Nook. It is great for books for the kids. I noticed this week that you can now get kindle books from the public library in Kansas. I have been using it regularly for epub books and that was a big reason I chose the NOOK, but now with the library books available in kindle and the color kindle coming out, I wonder if the nook will survive.

    • Laura

      I hope it will! As much as I love my Kindle, I really really hope that Amazon doesn’t take an all-but monopoly on e-readers. Though I hear Barnes&Noble is starting to make some poor decisions when it comes to bookselling, so I guess we’ll see what happens….

  • Debbie

    I love the bag you made for your Kindle. I always laugh to myself when I turn on my kindle because I always think of Hermione’s purse, in the final book of Harry Potter, with the Undetectable Extension Charm and all the books she carried in it. My Kindle is just like that handbag, I can carry tons of books in one small light weight device.

    • Laura

      That is an apt analogy. I completely agree! All these books at the tip of my fingers for any craving I might have! Most excellent. And yeah, rather magical, too.

      My wishlist has also exploded since I got my Kindle. I’m always on the watch for those .99 cent deals they offer that never would have happened in the days before e-books…

  • Joe Vasicek

    Hey, thanks for the link! And I agree; I love my older Kindle with the keyboard, and will probably stick with it for the time being. Recently, I’ve started uploading my manuscripts to read them while I’m out and about, making notes on things I want to change in the next draft. Great tool, because it’s not only portable, but it helps to see it on a screen other than my computer. For my friends, though, I’d recommend whatever model works best for what they want–after all, the more ereaders out there, the more people who can buy our books!

    • Laura

      I do that, too. I have my current WIP and my finished stories on my Kindle. It’s great to change formats–it’s like a whole new look on what’s there and written and what’s not and needs fixing or adding.

      Haha yes, the more the merrier! That does make me sad. I have e-publishing plans but then that leaves out 90% of my friends from ever reading anything I put out there.

Leave a Reply

