MRIs, Neurosurgery, and other updates.

Well, what do we have here? An update! It feels like it’s been ages since I’ve done anything. Where have the weeks gone?  I haven’t written a word on my stories since my doctor’s appointment a couple weeks ago. Yeah, more health difficulties.

I feel like I should give a shout to other writers out there. If you ever need a character to go through anything medical, I might be your gal for research. In the past five years, I’ve been through intense medical situations in The States, France, and Armenia. I’ve  had X-rays (in 3 countries) and blood work galore in more ways than you would think possible, 3 EKGs in two countries, an Autonomic Reflex Screen, and a sonogram. I’ve been hooked up to an old-fashion Soviet heart-rate monitor that looks like an electric death-shock machine. I’ve been to the Mayo Clinic in Rochester.  Most recently I’ve had an MRI, and I’m about to have neurosurgery.  So! If you ever want to use any of that material, just let me know and I’ll tell you allll about it.

Less dramatic, I could also tell you about different countries’ cold medicine and health-related myths.

And yeah, random note–winner of one of the recent Hugo Awards completely got his reference to Chronic Fatigue Syndrome wrong…and was rather condescending about it. So I didn’t vote for him.  (He won the award anyway despite my boycott :p).

So this is me getting back to the grindstone. I also just realized that I’m not going to be able to finish my novel this year, which I was really hoping to do. Queen of the Eight Banners is still my first priority for the moment, it’s important for me to finish, though it is a really hard story to tell… Which explains itself in my October numbers:

Hours: 15

Wordcount: 4k

With me not having written a word since October 17.  Not bad for half a month! I wish I could have kept going, but…well, here’s for trying again this month.

Good luck to all of you doing NaNoWriMo!

2 responses to “MRIs, Neurosurgery, and other updates.

  • Joe Vasicek

    A Soviet death-shock machine? Yikes!

    Good job with the writing; it’s good to see you keeping up with your goals, even with everything else on your plate. Good luck!

    • Laura

      Yeah, it was pretty scary. They closed the curtain and then got out those clamps that we use for jump-starting cars, put them on my ankles and wrists… I was trying very hard not to panic. (Me: They’re not trying to kill the American, are they? I swear I’m not CIA! ) :p

      Thanks! I can use all the luck I can get.

Leave a Reply

