Progress and no progress.

So, I’m getting back into the swing of things, juggling a bit better the projects I’m doing for others, (there’s, like, four of them) and those for myself.  So, there’s progress there.

As the year is coming to a close I am forced to reevaluate much, however.  I am not going to finish my novel this year as I was hoping to. I decided to put Queen of the Eight Banners as top priority, instead, which means I haven’t worked on my novel since August. That feels really weird to say, but there you have it.  I’ve already mentioned how difficult this story is to write, so I’m not sure that was the best plan ever or not. Though if I’m realistic with myself, I would realize that at the rate I was going, I wouldn’t have finished my novel this year, anyway. Sigh.

Well, I have a month left in 2011. What shall I do with it?   And what about 2012?  Originally I’d wanted to take at least one class next semester, but health this week has proved that I am not yet capable of interacting with the world on its own terms.  So, I’m tentatively considering an online class that starts at the end of February.  I’ll need to research this option further.

One of the classes I was wanting to take was Brandon Sanderson’s class again, and for that I’d have to start another project.  Looking over all my unfinished projects, I think it would do me more good now just to finish something. *amused* I really am working on that, I promise! But seriously, I’ve learned so much by listening and doing, now I need to learn by finishing and revising.

So, goals. Hopefully I can finish my alpha-reading by the end of next week.   I would dearly love to finish my monolingual Andromeda edits by the end of the year, as well, and compare them to the bilingual edits.  I want to hit the revision of The Miller’s Daughter and put that back out on the market before the month/year is out, too.   And of course, keep working on Queen of the Eight Banners–and keep telling myself that it’s okay if the story is difficult, you can do it!

And you know what? Health and people–family and friends–come first. So if I don’t make my goals, then I don’t make my goals. And that’s okay. I am not the sum of my accomplishments. I am more.

More interesting posts will come in 2012. Until then, posts will be infrequent.

2 responses to “Progress and no progress.

  • M

    I, for one, am super proud of you for all the progress you HAVE made on your creative works. Banners is going to be an amazing piece of art. It’s a story that only you could tell, and it’s unique and deeply moving and I am really excited that it’s happening.

    Your accomplishments are many and incredible, and even STILL you are more than the sum of your accomplishments. Much more.

Leave a Reply

