Hero: Diana Wynne Jones

I’m on vacation this week, but today I took the time to reread Diana Wynne Jones’ autobiography.  If you haven’t read it yet, you should.  (She grew up during WWII in England and Wales, and she heard C.S.Lewis and J.R.R.Tolkien speak at Oxford, for starters.) If you haven’t yet read any of her books, you should.

I was first recommended her books by my best friend who passed away a few years ago.  I wish I had taken the time to read more of Ms. Jones’ books when they were both still alive. Yes, I read Howl’s Moving Castle several years ago, and more recently I’ve been listening to it on audiobook whenever I need something calming to listen to, but the more I get to know her work, the more I love it.

She’s quickly become one of my heroes. I look up to and admire her work, her life, and her example.

What about you? What books of hers have you read? What should I read next? A Tale of Time City, Dogsbody, and Fire and Hemlock have all been rereleased this month with special introductions by Neil Gaiman, Garth Nix, and Ursula K. LeGuin. Many of her books now have cheaper e-book versions out, as well. For example, House of Many Ways (sequel to Howl’s Moving Castle and Castle in the Air) is only $1.99

Leave a Reply

