Half-Year Report

Progress reports aren’t as interesting as other types of posts, so I haven’t done a “monthly report” since March.   I think I’m going to stick to doing reports less often, since I’m actually writing fewer posts these days.  When I first started this blog I posted twice or thrice weekly, now I post once a week on Fridays with the occasional second post.

For June, I think I’m going to report on all the progress I’ve made since January.   It’s more exciting this way for everyone involved. It also makes me look better. >.>

From January to June, I have, in no particular order –

  1. Finished parts 1, 2, and 3 of my rough draft of Queen of the Eight Banners novella, (part 4 remains to be completed), and I have a few ideas on how to pursue revisions and publication. Novellas are tricky beasts.
  2. A short story of mine got published at a paying market.  I’ve finished one new story since the beginning of the year. I currently have 4 works on submission, and I’ve brought my submissions’ total up to 18.
  3. I’ve alpha-read two novels, Without A Summer by Mary Robinette Kowal and The Realm of Spirits by Joel Miller.
  4. I wrote an explanatory post on alpha-reading, which, thanks to Mary, went viral.
  5. I applied to be a remote reader for Weronika Janczuk, literary agent.
  6. I launched littletranslator.com and got it functioning.
  7. I started and completed MRK’s Month of Letters in February.
  8. I’ve nearly completed my yearly Goodreads Challenge goal to read 45 new books this year.
  9. I finished a round of preliminary monolingual edits on Andromeda and I’ve begun a more thorough round of bilingual edits.
  10. I attended this year’s LTUE and CONduit, and I got to meet two of my heroines – Mary Robinette Kowal and Tamora Pierce.
  11. I managed to find a way to get myself and a friend to this year’s Worldcon in Chicago. That will start the end of August.

Now for the less impressive part, numbers for April, May, June –

Hours spent: 10.5, 7.5, 10

Words writ: 2k, 1k, 5k

Leave a Reply

