Finished part 4!

So, for 2013 I’m doing an experiment with how I keep track of my writing.  In 2011-12, my writing process was to simply open TimeStamp and clock an hour’s time and then to mark my monthly calendar each day I wrote with a letter corresponding to the project I was working on–so “Q” for Queen of the Eight Banners, and so on.  I’d also jot down monthly word count and hours of writing achieved, (but I’ll admit on the monthly level, those always looked so pathetic).

But this year I’m taking inspiration from Holly Black’s writing accountability process and Mary Robinette Kowal’s use of spreadsheets and seeing what happens if I do something similar.

I still open TimeStamp and use it as my tool to both “get in the writing zone” and keep myself focused without any interruptions.  But this year, due to the amount of various projects on my plate that I want to clear (oops, how did I get so many?), I’m only writing for a half hour each day.  And now I’m also jotting down word counts.  It’s quite fun, actually! I didn’t expect something so clerk-y to feel so rewarding.

My mindset is simply to record what happens.   The only thing I feel responsibility towards is achieving that half hour.  Everything and anything else is happy happenstance, and I like how Holly Black’s system records life circumstances and takes those into account. So…want a peek?

Guess what? I FINISHED PART 4.  I MADE MY GOAL. IT FEELS SO GOOD. WHO CARES IF THOSE LAST 300 WORDS AREN’T THE GREATEST. I DID IT ANYWAY. HAH!

Finished part 4!

One response to “Finished part 4!

Leave a Reply

