A Funny Thing Happened

…on the way to the forum?

So, I keep a wishlist of about 200 books on it.  The great thing about keeping books on the Amazon wishlist is that it marks when books go down in price and how much.  It feels rather like playing the stock market.  I watch for books to go swooping/gliding down in price before I snatch them up.

Well, yesterday, I noticed two books in particular.

oceancover s-typeopts13

The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman dropped from $12.99 to $8

and Theft of Swords by Michael J. Sullivan has been at $7.99 but it’s on promotion to $2.99 until the end of the month.

So, feeling helpful, I tweeted about them, using my Amazon Associates link so I could get a small commission in case anyone else decided to pick them up along with me.

Then Neil Gaiman retweeted my tweet to all his then 1,887,922 followers. (Yes, that is almost 2 million.)

Then it got retweeted another 30 times.

I said “Holy smokes” a lot.  (I wasn’t aware this was in my vocabulary.)

So this morning I anxiously checked my account to see how much I made?  I had to laugh.

Out of those people, 750 clicked the link to check out the page.

Out of those, 12 people made purchases.

So I made $6.

Yes, I find this hilarious.

So, for the price of one tweet, I got an almost-free book?

Leave a Reply

