Hero: James C. Christensen

menandangelstradebook   When I returned home from Armenia at the end of 2010, I went through a period of reevaluation.  Part of it was that I was sick and not getting better and no one even knew what was wrong with me.  But that wasn’t the only thing.  I had left to volunteer in Armenia right after graduation, and the questions of “What does my art/writing mean to me? What do I want to do with myself?  What role should my talents play in my life?” were all spinning about in my head.

I try not to be very religious on this blog since spirituality is both a private matter and this is a public place, but I do want to talk a little bit about one of my heroes, James C. Christensen.   (Before you ask, no we’re not related. We just share the same last name.) He’s an artist who also happens to share my same faith and a lot of my same interests, being best known for his fantasy sketches and paintings.

When I was eleven, I moved across the country by myself and his illustrated book The Voyage of the Basset opened up my sense of wonder and was a companion for me on my own little adventure into the great unknown.  So it was only fitting to return to his wonder and his beautiful work and insights as I stepped into this new chapter of my life in 2010.

One of the single most perspective-shifting articles I read at this time was this interview at a small internet magazine.   Then earlier this week I read an interview where he talked more openly about his life and the lessons he learned along the way.  And finally I stumbled upon this article he wrote for a Church magazine in the late 1980s.   I encourage you to read and explore the things he shared.  You just might learn something new!

Leave a Reply

