NaNoWriMo 2013 log 2

Well, today is November 15th, which means we’re halfway through NaNo and I am doing… surprisingly well!  I am on track to make 50k if I keep up this pace. Hopefully I can!

I apologize for the turmoil of my last post. I was operating on very little sleep.  However, post-of-turmoil seems to have worked!  I now write multiple times a day (again) rather than trying to cram 2k into one session.  I write after breakfast for a half hour to an hour and I write after dinner for the same, averaging about 800 words per session.

(Admittedly, I haven’t written yet today because Make A Wish foundation turned San Francisco into Gotham City today so a kid could live out his dream of being Batman, and that is absolutely amazing. But I will write! Promise. Here’s a condensed version of events.)

As for how I feel about this pace, I have mixed feelings.  On the one hand, it’s nice to write a lot and to potentially make my goal.  On the other hand, 800 words in a half hour doesn’t allow me much time to think about what it is I’m writing, which means that I’m getting a lot of mixed results.  I prefer to write and think at the same time, which pace is more like 400-500 words per half hour.  So I may end up having to rewrite most everything I’ve written this month.

If I wanted to write and think at the same time, it’d take me more than 1-2 hours a day to hit high enough word counts, and I just don’t have the energy or stamina to do that with my health being what it is.

Still, grand experiments are grand experiments.

How is everyone else doing?

Leave a Reply

